What I used to do before I had a real blog

I used to have a LJ.

I say used to, because the last time I updated it was back in college, maybe freshman year. Hang on let me go check.

Ah, well it seems the last time I posted was in February of 2011, but it was cross posted from another failed journal hosted on Dreamwidth. (And it was promoting something here so it’s an example of BLOG-ception)

When I signed up for LiveJournal, I was not quite 16. I hadn’t been able to maintain a real journal or diary despite trying a few times. I thought if it was on the computer, I’d be more willing to write in it. (The definition of a millennial, wouldn’t you say?) LiveJournal had three privacy settings: Public, Friends Only, and Private. For the most part, mine was Friends Only and all of my friends were ones I knew in real life from my school.

I did write regularly through much of high school. (I started back in tenth grade) I had an “audience” so it wasn’t purely just for me. At times, I did censor myself. Which, in the long run, was a good thing because it prepared me for the “next generation” where I have this blog and twitter. There’s no sense barring my deep dark secrets for the internet to see. But there’s also no point in having a blog that lacks “personality.”

One final note: I went back and made my entire Livejournal public after I moved on from using it. But as a result of not deleting the “blog” I still get email notifications of spam which is quite annoying, especially since a majority of them are in RUSSIAN.

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

