Working Girl

Over the summer, I had a bit of a problem finding a job. I was lucky that I was able to work at Hudson News for most of June, July and August. I think it ended up being around 8 weeks. Now with an extra long break before I go to Germany in March, I’m back working for January and most of February.

For the most part I really like my job.  I love the fact that I learned so many new skills and also improved my people skills as well. I now know how to keep a till. We are required to be within 5 dollars of what the computer says. Most days I am with in a dollar. I also really enjoy talking with customers. If it’s not too busy, I usually ask them where they are heading. We have almost a ‘script’ of questions we need to ask (How are you? Did you find everything you were looking for? and then we suggest something else) and I try to do variations on the last two just to shake things up. Sometimes I find myself in a bit of a rut and feel a little like a robot, but then I switch to a variation. I also love that I’m working in the international terminal. I’ve gotten to use my German a few times, and even learned a new phrase over the summer.

I think the only negative is the schedule. It’s divided into two shifts, morning is from Open to 1/2 and the the afternoon is from 1/2 to Close. I’m on the afternoon shift and the only draw back is the Close. Sometimes we close at 10, some times it’s 1030 and other times it’s 11 (or later if a flight is delayed) I am usually scheduled to 10, but most of the time I can not leave exactly at 10 because there’s still something that needs to be done.

The reason why I posted this is because of the people I work with. I get along fine with almost everyone, especially the people I see often. But I can’t help but realize how different I am from my coworkers. English is my first language, unlike 90 percent of my coworkers. (Some have thicker accents than others) And then I also have only worked during my time off. I’m not working for a living; I’m working for some spending money and to increase my savings account for when the college bills come. I know a lot of my coworkers work two jobs just to get by. Some of them are at it seven days a week, getting very little sleep. As a result they’re almost always sick. And I think a lot of them are also sending money back home to their families. When I first started, a lot of my coworkers would ask me if I lived with my family.

Working this job has given me a glimpse of the real world, and I definitely have more respect for people like my coworkers now than before. I consider myself extremely lucky to be in school (to be going to Germany for a semester) and to still live with my family. The real world’s a scary place and I’ve realized that it’s best for me  to ease myself into it instead of jumping right in.

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

