New Year and still directionless…

My Fall 2009 Grades came in.

At the beginning of the semester, I really wanted to get a better GPA than I had my first two years (I hadn’t achieved anything higher than a 3.66) I told Dean Donahue that I was shooting for a 3.75 and he replied that was very ambitious of me. I knew it would be a challenge because I was taking 6 classes instead of 5, but I buckled down for the most part and aimed for the stars.

The end result: My best semester yet. The GPA is a 3.78  which brings me up to a 3.63 cumaltive.

Subject Course Course Title Final Grade
CRWR 190D LEVEL II – PSY OF CHARACTER A-
ENGL 116 SHAKSPR-LATER PLAYS B+
ENGL 192L GAY AND LESBIAN LITERATURE A
GERM 103 ADV GERMAN LANGUAGE A
PHYS 005 (NS) LIGHT A-
RELI 018 (HP)SACRAMENTS, SEX & THE CITY A

I feel like the  A- in my Creative Writing Class is more of a refelction of my effort than my writing level. I really really really struggled with my writing this semester.  There’s a reason why I have yet to post my two major stories here (other than my writings never seem to get as many views as my other posts): I’m still really unhappy with both my stories. Coincidentally they’re both set in the same universe: The Charlestown of my dad’s generation (and maybe a little older too).

As I explained to my Creative Writing Professor (who I wasn’t that happy with, or the class in general) in my reflection, going to the Writer’s Club was a gift and a curse. These people have known me and my writings for nearly two years now. I value their opinions a lot. The flip side of that is they know when my pieces can be better. That’s what happened this semester.

I seriously thought I had it figured out: I would graduate with a BA in English with a concentration in Creative Writing (and a BA in German Language) and then apply to an MFA program for writing. The end result would be a job at a University/College, working with students on their writing. I’ve already had a little experience working with kids in the Writer’s Workshop over the summers during high school. While I felt frustrating dealing with the kids who were forced to be there and had no intention to write, I still enjoyed it for the most part.

BUT after this semester, those plans are seriously up in the air. My one consolation is that this period of self-doubt happens during Junior year instead of Senior year, when I need to apply to Grad Schools in order to go straight to it (if I take a year or two off, I need to work year-round to pay off some loans)

The problem is writing is my first love. I really want to focus on it and find a way to get paid to do what I love. (The MFA option would lead to a job where I could work on my writing and also work on getting the next generation to get into writing) But I do have other options: I could always apply to law school, with the idea I would go into the public side and work for a DA or AG. And I could apply to Divinity School and persue the idea of studying to become a Priest. (I would have to convert to Episcopalian first) That option has been in the back of my mind for the past couple of years, but it’s only really become a possibility this semester, after talking to my Religion professor several times.

2 Comments

Filed under Musings, Writing

2 responses to “New Year and still directionless…

  1. Lianna

    I’m still waiting on one grade. And it figures it’s a three credit class that could kill my GPA.

  2. Pingback: One Year « Blog: Caitlin: Walsh: Writer

Leave a Reply

