How we should use Twitter

Straight from the CEO:

My theory is it’s more or less a good thing for us. If I had to choose, I would rather have adults on the service than teenagers. The reason kind of makes sense if you think about what you care about. Twitter is not a social network. The emphasis is on information and finding out what’s happening among things you care about — work, industry, company, news. And it’s well known that teenagers are not really consumers of news.

you’ll find the transcript/interview here

I know he’s the CEO but there are teenagers who read the news! I was one of them. I still constantly check the boston.com website for local news. I follow a couple boston sports writers on twitter. I guess I’m just an exception to the rule and that’s why I use twitter.

But then how do you explain this site? (It’s a complete tech blog run by teenage boys, who all use twitter. I was amazed at how well put together this site is.) The blog article hit on the Twitter/Facebook debate. Most young people will say facebook is fun (because of the apps) whereas they might not have heard of Twitter, or think it’s boring. That’s too bad because I find Twitter really useful to stay on top of things. And while I don’t think everything I tweet is really that important, I like the idea of sharing some of my thoughts to potentially the whole world. Kind of like this blog, but a lot quicker. (Which is where Twitter gets its micro blogging tag despite the CEO)

No, Mr. CEO, I think I will stick with Twitter thankyouverymuch. I think the key to using twitter is balance. It is what you make of it. I follow friends, I follow news for Star Trek, I follow writers. I have people following me who are into writing, who I know and who I don’t know.

It’s definitely better than facebook. 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

