Bisexual or Lesbian? Please make up your mind

A lesbian friend posted this article on her facebook page.

Nikki Dowling wrote how when she was just got into girls her date lamented that she wasn’t totally lesbian. It seems that some lesbians don’t like bisexual women for their associations with guys.

But, alas, in parts of the gay community, being bi or being a lesbian who has hooked up with guys in the past is like having horns or an incurable disease.

from the article, by Nikki Dowling

The straight girls who get really drunk and kiss other girls for attention don’t help at all so I see their point.

But where does this put me? I’ve been on this journey for a little under a year. I was questioning, Bi-curious and finally Bisexual. My mom (who has no problems with my coming out) has asked me a few times “Are you sure you’re not a lesbian?”

“No, Mom, I’m Bisexual but I’m looking for a girlfriend right now.”

I don’t blame her for being confused. It seems like Sexual Identity has evolved  from Straight or Straight, to Straight or Gay/Lesbian to Straight, Bi, Gay/Lesbian and (hopefully) everywhere in between. I don’t mean to bring up the Kinsey Scale because it seems like some people don’t believe it is right, but I do think Sexual Identity is a scale. And I’m somewhere in between the Bi and Lesbian parts. Maybe Kinsey only got the part about no one being completely one way or the other wrong. Maybe the Scale idea is on the right track.

One can hope 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Musings

One response to “Bisexual or Lesbian? Please make up your mind

  1. Hey! Thanks for posting my article:)I was on the same journey as you and don’t worry, weather you decide to be straight, bi, gay or somewhere in between you will find someone who will accept you for who your are. Those that don’t aren’t worth it anyways. Just know that a lot of people go through it and you aren’t weird or crazy (which is how I felt sometimes).

Leave a Reply

